Des Moines OWI Lawyers
Hire a Firm with a Track Record of Success
Branstad & Olson represents clients facing charges for OWI throughout Iowa. If you have been arrested for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated, you face driver’s license suspension, fines, jail time, and probation. Law enforcement has strict rules they must follow when investigating and arresting a person for suspicion of driving while intoxicated. It is essential to have an experienced OWI team on your side to help assess your situation and reach your best outcome.
Iowa OWI Laws
Iowa OWI laws state that it is illegal for any person to operate a motor vehicle:
- while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of such substances
- with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher
- any found to have any amount of controlled substance in their system
Those who drive commercial vehicles are considered to be driving illegally with a BAC of .04% or more. The BAC limit for drivers who are under the age of 21 is .02%.
Iowa OWI Penalties
According to OWI laws in Iowa, the penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs are directly related to the offender’s number of previous offenses.
In Iowa, the penalties first-offense, second-offense, and third-offense OWI include the following:
Iowa OWI First Offense
A first offense OWI is classified as a serious misdemeanor resulting in penalties including a jail sentence ranging from 48 hours to 1 year, a fine of up to $1,250, and driver’s license revocation for a period of 180 days to 1 year.
OWI Second Offense Iowa
In Iowa, a second-offense OWI is classified as an aggravated misdemeanor with penalties including 7 days to 2 years in prison, a fine of $1,875 to $6,250, and a minimum of 1 year driver’s license revocation.
Third Offense OWI Iowa
A third-offense OWI or any subsequent offenses are categorized as a Class D felony. A conviction will result in a mandatory prison sentence of 30 days but could result in 5 years in prison. The offender will also face a fine ranging from $3,125 to $9,375, as well as 6-year driver’s license revocation.
The court, probation, and DOT penalties may be complex. All OWI offenders will be required to undergo substance abuse evaluation, treatment may be required, and a course for drinking drivers may be required. Additionally, the driver may be required to install an ignition interlock device in their car.
Call Branstad & Olson Today
Whether this is your first arrest for OWI or whether you face a third or subsequent conviction, Branstad & Olson is here to ensure all rules were followed by law enforcement and to help you take the best next step. Our Iowa OWI lawyers have over 65 years of collective experience and have successfully handled OWI cases in Iowa.
Call (515) 329-3100 now to start developing a strategic defense.
Indecent Exposure Not Guilty– Jury Trial
Appeal - Administrative Reversed and Remanded
Criminal Mischief Not Guilty– Jury Trial
Appeal - Criminal Conviction Reversed and Remanded
Robbery 1st Degree Not Guilty– Jury Trial
Possession of Marijuana Not Guilty– Jury Trial
Murder 1st Degree Not Guilty– Jury Trial
Vehicular Homicide Not Guilty - Trial
Suppression Leading to Dismissal Reversed and Remanded
Assault with Intent to Commit Sexual Abuse Not Guilty – Jury Trial