Theft Lawyer Des Moines, IA
Defenses for Theft in Iowa
When facing minor or serious theft crime charges in Iowa, it is crucial to talk with skilled legal counsel. At Branstad & Olson, we can help fight allegations against you and seek a favorable outcome.
We’ve successfully handled thousands of cases. Call (515) 329-3100 now to schedule a complimentary consultation with our Des Moines theft attorneys.
Theft Defined in Iowa
In Iowa, it is unlawful for any person to intentionally deprive another individual of their property without consent. Numerous types of theft offenses exist, including theft of personal property, vehicles, money, credit cards, or even another person’s identity. Fraud, robbery, and embezzlement are also considered types of thefts in Iowa.
According to Iowa Code § 714.1, several activities may be considered theft, including:
- Writing bad checks
- Using a credit card without permission
- Accessing a computer without the owner’s authorization
- Intentionally failing to return rental property
- Obtaining property, labor, or services through means of deception
- Exercising control over property having a good reason to believe the property is stolen
- Obtaining services, such as public utility, telephone, or cable services, through an unauthorized connection to the service line
Iowa Theft Penalties and Classes
The classifications and penalties for theft offenses in Iowa include:
- Class C felony theft: Theft in the first degree occurs when the property is valued at more than $10,000, or under other specific circumstances. A conviction results in a maximum punishment of 10 years in prison and a fine between $1,000 and $10,000, plus restitution for the property taken.
- Class D felony theft: Theft in the second degree occurs when the property is valued between $1,500 and $10,000, or theft of a motor vehicle is involved Non-habitual offenders can be sentenced to a maximum of 5 years in prison and a fine of $750 to $7,500, plus restitution.
- Aggravated misdemeanor theft: When the property is valued at more than $750, but less than $1,500, it is theft in the third degree. A person can also be charged with aggravated misdemeanor theft when the property is valued at less than $750 and they have 2 previous theft convictions. The maximum punishment for this type of theft is 2 years in prison and a fine between $625 and $6,250, plus restitution.
- Serious misdemeanor theft: When the property is valued between $300 and $750, the crime is a serious misdemeanor. A fourth-degree theft crime is punishable by a $315 to $1,875 fine and no more than 1 year in jail.
- Simple misdemeanor theft: When the property is valued at less than $300, the offense is a simple misdemeanor. Simple misdemeanor theft can result in a $65 to $625 fine and up to 30 days in jail.
Get the Representation You Need
No matter what theft charge you face, choosing the right law firm can make a difference.
Criminal Mischief Not Guilty– Jury Trial
Vehicular Homicide Not Guilty - Trial
Robbery 1st Degree Not Guilty– Jury Trial
Suppression Leading to Dismissal Reversed and Remanded
Appeal - Administrative Reversed and Remanded
Indecent Exposure Not Guilty– Jury Trial
Assault with Intent to Commit Sexual Abuse Not Guilty – Jury Trial
Murder 1st Degree Not Guilty– Jury Trial
Possession of Marijuana Not Guilty– Jury Trial
Appeal - Criminal Conviction Reversed and Remanded